

Legislative Assembly Province of Alberta

Day 2

ORDER PAPER

First Session

Thirtieth Legislature

Thursday, May 23, 2019

Prayers (9:00 a.m.)

ROUTINE (1:30 p.m.)

O Canada (First sitting day of each week)

Oral Question Period (1:50 p.m. daily) (Day 1)

Introduction of Visitors Introduction of Guests Ministerial Statements Members' Statements Presenting Reports by Standing and Special Committees Presenting Petitions Notices of Motions Introduction of Bills Tabling Returns and Reports Tablings to the Clerk

ORDERS OF THE DAY

Consideration of Her Honour the Lieutenant Governor's Speech

Ms Glasgo to propose the following motion, seconded by Ms Rosin:

That an humble address be presented to Her Honour the Honourable the Lieutenant Governor as follows:

To Her Honour the Honourable Lois Mitchell, CM, AOE, LLD, the Lieutenant Governor of the Province of Alberta:

We, Her Majesty's most dutiful and loyal subjects, the Legislative Assembly, now assembled, beg leave to thank Your Honour for the gracious speech Your Honour has been pleased to address to us at the opening of the present Session.

Government Motions

2. Hon. Mr. Nixon to propose the following motion:

Be it resolved that

- A. Select Standing Committees for the present Legislature be appointed for the following purposes:
 - (1) Privileges and Elections, Standing Orders and Printing,
 - (2) Public Accounts,
 - (3) Private Bills,
 - (4) Alberta Heritage Savings Trust Fund, and
 - (5) Legislative Offices

and, in addition thereto, there be appointed for the present Legislature a Special Standing Committee on Members' Services;

- B. Legislative Policy Committees for the present Legislature be appointed for the following purposes:
 - (1) Standing Committee on Families and Communities,
 - (2) Standing Committee on Alberta's Economic Future, and
 - (3) Standing Committee on Resource Stewardship.
- **3.** Hon. Mr. Nixon to propose the following motion:

Be it resolved that the following Members be appointed to the Assembly's five Select Standing Committees, one Special Standing Committee, and three Legislative Policy Committees:

Standing Committee on the Alberta Heritage Savings Trust Fund (9 Members)

2

Gotfried (Chair)	Eggen	Irwin
Orr (Deputy Chair)	Getson	Jones
Allard	Glasgo	Nielsen

Standing Committee on Legislative Offices (11 Members)

Ellis (Chair)	Lovely	Shepherd
Schow (Deputy Chair)	Nixon (Calgary-Klein)	Sigurdson (Highwood)
Goodridge	Rutherford	Sweet
Gray	Schmidt	

Standing Committee on Private Bills (15 Members)

Ellis (Chair)	Neudorf	Sigurdson (Highwood)
Schow (Deputy Chair)	Nielsen	Vacant
Gotfried	Nixon (Calgary-Klein)	Vacant
Horner	Pancholi	Vacant
Irwin	Sigurdson (Edmonton-Riverview)	Vacant

Standing Committee on Privileges and Elections, Standing Orders and Printing (15 Members)

Smith (Chair)	Horner	Rehn
Schow (Deputy Chair)	Issik	Reid
Carson	Jones	Renaud
Deol	Loyola	Turton
Ganley	Neudorf	Yao

Standing Committee on Public Accounts (15 Members)

Phillips (Chair)	Feehan	Rowswell
Gotfried (Deputy Chair)	Guthrie	Stephan
Amery	Hoffman	Toor
Barnes	Renaud	Turton
Dach	Rosin	Walker

Special Standing Committee on Members' Services (11 Members)

Cooper (Chair)	Deol	Long
Ellis (Deputy Chair)	Goehring	Sweet
Armstrong-Homeniuk	Goodridge	Williams
Dang	Gotfried	

Standing Committee on Alberta's Economic Future (15 Members)

van Dijken (Chair)	Dach	Jones
Goehring (Deputy Chair)	Dang	Reid
Allard	Gray	Rowswell
Barnes	Horner	Stephan
Bilous	Issik	Toor

3

Standing Committee on Families and Communities (15 Members)

Goodridge (Chair)	Glasgo	Nixon (Calgary-Klein)
Sigurdson (Deputy Chair) (Edmonton-Riverview)	Guthrie	Pancholi
Amery	Irwin	Rutherford
Carson	Long	Walker
Ganley	Neudorf	Yao

Standing Committee on Resource Stewardship (15 Members)

Hanson (Chair)	Loyola	Sigurdson (Highwood)
Ceci (Deputy Chair)	Rehn	Singh
Armstrong-Homeniuk	Rosin	Smith
Feehan	Sabir	Turton
Getson	Schmidt	Yaseen

4. Hon. Mr. Nixon to propose the following motion:

Be it resolved that the Legislative Assembly resolve into Committee of the Whole, when called, to consider certain Bills on the Order Paper.

5. Hon. Mr. Nixon to propose the following motion:

Be it resolved that the Legislative Assembly resolve itself into Committee of Supply, when called, to consider supply to be granted to Her Majesty.

6. Hon. Mr. Nixon to propose the following motion:

Be it resolved that, notwithstanding Standing Order 8(1), the Assembly shall meet in the afternoon on Monday, May 27, 2019, for consideration of Government business.

7. Hon. Mr. Nixon to propose the following motion:

Be it resolved that, pursuant to Standing Order 4(1), commencing May 27, 2019, the Assembly shall meet on Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday evenings for consideration of Government business for the duration of the First Session of the 30th Legislature 2019 Spring Sitting unless the Government House Leader notifies the Assembly that there shall be no evening sitting that day by providing notice under Notices of Motions in the Daily Routine or at any time prior to 6 p.m.

Government Bills and Orders

Second Reading

Bill 1 An Act to Repeal the Carbon Tax (\$) — Hon. Mr. Kenney

4

NOTICES

Leave to Introduce a Bill

- Bill 2 An Act to Make Alberta Open for Business Hon. Mr. Copping
- Bill 3 Job Creation Tax Cut (Alberta Corporate Tax Amendment) Act Hon. Mr. Toews
- Bill 4 Red Tape Reduction Act Hon. Mr. Hunter
- Bill 201 Protection of Students with Life-threatening Allergies Act Ms Armstrong-Homeniuk

Motions Other Than Government Motions

501. Mr. Turton to propose the following motion:

Be it resolved that the Legislative Assembly urge the Government to take all necessary measures to make the process for all forms of adoption more efficient and timely for families.

502. Mr. van Dijken to propose the following motion:

Be it resolved that the Legislative Assembly urge the Government to require a local economic impact assessment and take the results of that assessment into consideration when planning the centralization or relocation of provincially funded government service centres, offices, and branches.

503. Mr. Schmidt to propose the following motion:

Be it resolved that the Legislative Assembly urge the Government to honour the crude-by-rail contracts in order to move Alberta's oil to world markets, protect jobs, and support companies in the province's energy sector.

Hon. Nathan M. Cooper, Speaker

Title: Thursday, May 23, 2019

